A Room of One’s Own Day

Today is A Room of One’s Own Day…aka Virginia Woolf’s birthday. If you’ve been reading my writing around here for a while, you already know that the phrase “A room of my own” is something that I say a lot. It’s not that I have a one track mind but it is a phrase that sums up my feelings about my life, my world, my goals, and needs for growth. I need a room of my own.

Do I mean an actual physical room? Well, yes and no. Since we moved into this house, my “studio” has been half of an 8 by 10 foot room, the other half being occupied by my boyfriend’s office area. It doesn’t work for me. The only thing I have ever used the studio for so far is storage and even in that regard, it fails miserably. I felt guilty about wanting to have it all to myself for quite some time. And then, one day, I realized that I had nothing to feel guilty about. My boyfriend has an entire double car garage that has been converted into a workshop at his disposal. There is nothing out there that belongs to me and I never use that space for anything. He has it filled to the brim with tools, hardware, and computer parts and supplies.

I have realized that my wanting to have that small room all to myself was not selfish. It is to function as my studio and office. I need space for my art supplies, space to work on my art projects and to do my writing, space to store my art and writing books, and space for all of my teaching materials. I need space to hang things that inspire me – and those things are rarely something my boyfriend finds inspirational too. (Can I help that most of them are pink?) I need a space where I can nest, where I can completely embrace my own personality, where I can feel completely at home, completely in control, and completely at peace.

As I reflected on my need and desire, and yes even my right to a room of my own, I realized something important. While I do need a physical space in this home that I can call my own and only mine, I also realized that it is a metaphor for even more. It isn’t just a room of my own that I want in the physical sense…it’s a room of my own in my heart and in my soul. I need a room of my own in the form of a journal, where I can keep my innermost, honest thoughts, where I can record my journey through life. It’s a room of my own within my heart where I can feel free to look inward with pride and joy. It’s a room of my own in my soul where I can feel free to express myself, with my authentic self, without the censors who exist in order to try to present the picture of me that is meant solely to please others and to address their desires for me, instead of my desires for myself.

I found this blog post on the subject and thought the questions she raises were pretty interesting:

http://brocante-home.blogspot.com/2010/01/room-of-ones-own.html

Published in: on January 26, 2010 at 2:52 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://cydlee61.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/a-room-of-ones-own-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. (: i dont have a room yet, just a corner (:

  2. I have a room that serves as sleeping area, office, art studio, and storage.

  3. What a coincidence. Just before I came online and read this I was lying on the couch trying to work out if I could make the laundry into a kind of mini studio.
    The last paragraph of what you wrote made so much sense to me I’m going to copy it into my ‘wise words said by others’ notebook. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts.

  4. This is great. I feel exactly the same – my workspace is also my bedroom and includes all my clothes, books and other belongings, which doesn’t leave much space for art and writing. Recently I’ve found myself wishing for a whole house of my own – is that just getting selfish? 🙂 3 years of shared student living and I feel the need of privacy…

  5. Great piece. I enjoyed reading it.

  6. I can so identify with this piece and am inspired to go off and write a piece of my own

  7. Great post and words cannot express how strongly I agree with you. I would love, love, love a room of my own. I would like it to be rather large so that I could section it off according to purpose. I can almost see it now. I think you’ve inspired me to give this idea some real thought. After all I am looking for a new house 🙂


Leave a Reply

